臨床應用

DNA與你


DNA與你我息息相關,每個人獨特的DNA密碼(序列)都是遺傳自父母。這些密碼中隱藏了大量的訊息,利用當今先進的分子生物技術,科學家們能夠讀取這些隱藏其中的資訊,幫助我們解答許多問題。例如檢驗遺傳疾病以及親屬關係鑑定。



命中注定有癌症?


癌症是香港在近十年的頭號殺手病,無論新症或死亡人數都節節上升。其實我們每天都會接觸到各類型的致癌物,但是有些人會引發癌病變,有些卻置身事外。難道患上癌症是命中注定? 的確,除了環境因素,遺傳也有相當大的影響。利用高階的分子生物技術,可以找出隱藏在體內導致癌症的基因變異,對於家族中有癌症病史的人,這些資訊是不可小覷的。人定勝天,藉由這些資訊,擺脫宿命的牽拖,我們的專家團隊會是你邁向健康人生的最佳拍檔!


21世紀的滴血認親—DNA親子鑑證


STR (Short Tandem Repeat)標記是DNA序列的其中一種類型,由於它們是分別來自父與母,因此血緣關係越接近的人,STR標記的相似性就越高。一般來說,使用12-15STR標記計算親子關係,準確率可達99%-99.9%,但是現今已經不足夠而我們專業的科學家團隊使用24-27STR標記進行分析,準確率可達99.99999%,遠高於國際標準。有見及此,不僅增加親子鑑證的可信度,用做其他複雜的親屬關係分析也游刃有餘。

Clinical Application

DNA and us


DNA in every one of us is the most unique identity which we inherited from our parents. Based on the modern molecular biology technologies, scientists could retrieve massive information from it; such as hereditary diseases and familial relation analysis are widely applied with it nowadays.


Is cancer your fate?


Cancer has been the number one killer in Hong Kong in the last decade. We are exposing to numbers of carcinogens every day unfortunately, however some get cancer whereas others not. Can we fight this fate? Despite maintaining healthy life styles, modern molecular biology techniques help us to locate the aberrant genetic variances that cause cancer. Such information is particularly important for those whose close relatives have cancers. With the help from our experts and cutting-edge technologies, we could be your best partner to fight against cancer. "There's no fate but what we make for ourselves."

High accuracy DNA kinship analysis


DNA sequence patterns are hereditary, the closer relationship the more similar pattern. One of such patterns called STR (Short Tandem Repeat) markers, traditionally including 12-15 markers in paternity/maternity analysis could offer 99%-99.9% accuracy but it is not enough nowadays. Our experts use 24-27 STR markers which increase the accuracy of the analysis up to 99.99999%, much higher than the international standard. Base on such accuracy, not only better paternity/maternity analysis could be achieve but many complex kindship analysis could also be identified clearly.